Gills EFL Rivals

Discussion relating to anything Gillingham FC

Gills EFL Rivals

Postby JudeKinsella » Mon Sep 05, 2022 3:27 pm

I am a student at Loughborough University working in collaboration with the University of Massachusetts, to help research rivalries in the English Football League. The Know Rivalry project is seeking to learn more about the psychological, cultural and commercial effects of football rivalries in the UK.

The views of Gillingham fans could be used to support the marketing and broadcasting of the club, especially in the build-up to games against rivals. At the moment we're focusing on who you view as your rivals in League 2 and above, so Maidstone couldn't be selected as a rival for example. However, your views on other EFL Rivals would be recognised and provide data on what games Gillingham fans look forward to most.

As an AFC Wimbledon fan, I am pleased to have been given the task of collecting data on League 2 clubs this season and it would be greatly appreciated if you could share your views using the following link: https://umassamherst.co1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_3FdJ8eN2EgFCfCB?collID=10&grpID=1424

Feel free to ask any questions.
Thanks, Jude.
JudeKinsella

Re: Gills EFL Rivals

Postby lidbid46 » Tue Sep 06, 2022 12:58 pm

For the last few years, following some unpleasant matches played against them, Swindon Town were supposed to be our rivals, but I think that was more according to us than Swindon! We’ve tried to create rivalry against Millwall and Charlton, but I don’t think they really care less about Gillingham; it’s a bit like a mosquito biting an elephant’s bum!!
lidbid46

Re: Gills EFL Rivals

Postby gillsfan1066 » Tue Sep 06, 2022 8:58 pm

Mt first question is are we talking about Massachusetts University as in the Good Old US of A and if we are what the hell are they doing wasting my money I pay in tax's studying English Soccer ,they only have one Pro Soccer team in the whole State and that's The New England Revolution